A lesson in love

iconic-fragrances

“Make me a Fragrance that Smells like Love”

Christian Dior

This Saturday 11th February I am going to be hosting a Valentine’s inspired Perfume Making Workshop and it’s wonderfully exciting!

When I first started learning about Perfumery some years ago, it was partly the love for the complexity and beauty of the oils that seduced me but also the mystery of this elusive and magical art. The thought of being a perfumer to me was very romantic. And somehow forbidden, because back in the days a Perfumer was to be also an alchemist, an aromatherapist, and a sacred person.

Perfumery has always been a very secretive profession and there are only a smattering of Perfumery Schools these days who even teach it. I was lucky in that I was interested in learning mainly about natural perfumes (most of the perfumes you buy these days are made with chemicals) so I was able to find a local course teaching perfumery by a very eccentric Chinese perfumer and botanist who seemed reasonably delighted with my amateur creations.  I was hooked.

What I always wanted to do however was make bespoke perfumes for people. It’s why I started making candles, to assuage my need for creating fragrances, and why I started The Secret Scent Société and why I finally, after finding the right space to do it in, have started offering Bespoke Perfume Making Classes in London. In this respect I think I’ve finally found my calling.

The first event is in London with the theme of Valentines Day which means different things for different people, but for me it definitely means flowers! So we will be making perfumes with a variety of different essential oils (as it’s a natural perfume making workshop), and people will be smelling, selecting, building, and blending their very own creations on the day.

I’m really excited about offering this experience to people and I look forward to doing many more in the future!

If you would like to know more, are thinking of coming along or know someone who might like being a perfumer for the day then forward this onto them!

Limited tickets are available to buy here: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/valentines-perfume-making-workshop-tickets-30845865815

Fragrant Wishes,

Tori

Leave a Reply

