Snow Baby Snow!

skiing-in-Morzine

Hello Bloggee’s and Bloggette’s!

I have just returned from my skiing holiday in Morzine, France, which was an eye opening experience for me in many ways. It was my first time deliberately going to a destination that I knew was going to be cold, my first time sharing a chalet with a group of people that I’d never met before, AND most importantly: It was my very first time skiing!

The sensation of wearing these long, heavy pieces of metal on my feet did take some getting used to as it was a very unnatural feeling, but I enjoyed the exhilarating feeling of freedom and speed that it gave me and the scenery was just breathtaking.

The chalet we chose was a mere 5 minutes walk away from the ski centre and it was spacious, stylish and in very good condition. It boasted a wonderful Jacuzzi on the balcony with spectacular panoramic views of the snow capped mountains. The Jacuzzi was set to a gloriously hot 40 degrees so you could easily sit there for an hour getting wrinkly without even realising it.

The climate, though cold, was actually really sunny, and after just 1 day there both I and Josh had started to tan – definitely a need for a high factor sun block!

The food, whether it was in our chalet where we had home cooked meals everyday by our chalet hosts or whether it was in the small village of Morzine after a long day of skiing, was great. I had many varieties of all types of food and it was all very fresh and tasty.

My first few days were a little hard, as there was so much to learn and I was acutely aware of the possible dangers and I was very keen not to break my legs! But at the same time I knew that if I wanted to progress then I would have to try to get a hold on my fear and just go for it. And I did, and I can honestly say that it was one of my most enjoyable experiences. The combination of keeping fit, doing a sport that I enjoyed, the beautiful environment, the great food and lovely people I met means that I will more then likely return.

Snow Baby Snow!

morzine-20120320-05

One thought on “Snow Baby Snow!

Leave a Reply

