Going down to Smiley Town

The nickname for Thailand is “The land of the smiley people” and in precisely 2 weeks time I will be smiling along with them as I’m off to Thailand! (yay me!)

Not only will it be my first time away from home at Christmas time, but it will also be my first time away with Ian at Christmas and both of our first times visiting Thailand.  So, plenty of firsts!

Apart from sampling all of the lovely food on offer (I LOVE Thai food), I also want to see some of the famous Buddhist temples, and I’d love to see some wildlife (though I’m not sure that I agree with elephant trekking or watching monkey entertainment shows) –  I’d much rather see animals in their natural habitat. And let us not forget the multitude of beautiful beaches of which Koh Samui, the part of Thailand that I’m visiting has an abundance of.

Anthong Marine Park, which has been featured in Hollywood films such as Leonardo De Caprio’s The Beach is spectacularly beautiful and offers a variety of activities on it’s surrounding islands such as kayaking, scuba diving and kayaking.  

As we’ll be celebrating Ian’s birthday whilst we’re in Thailand, I have booked an allday boat trip to Anthong Park which he doesn’t know about yet. I’m excited because I’ve a pretty good idea that a) he’s not expecting it and b) he’ll love it. So I’m content.

I have no idea how they commemorate Christmas in Thailand but I’m sure it’s not going to be anything like in England so I’m just going to go with it and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

