Scentiments

Scentiments

 

I am going to be doing a clear out of my fragrance studio at home which means that most of my fragrance oils will have to be discarded as they have now passed their expiry date. It is utterly PAINFUL to see so many good fragrances get thrown away but unfortunately all fragrance oils have a lifeline of approximately 2 years and a lot of them are fast approaching that now. After the fragrance oils sell by date has expired they become harder to work with (in soap and in candles especially), are prone to discolouration and their scent fades. No thanks.

I think once I’ve done a clear out of my fragrance oils (and anything else that’s bin overdue – do you see what I done there? ;), I am going to start keeping a list of all of my Fragrance Oils with details of their approximate expiry dates so I don’t have to guess in future.

I’m also going to print a few Fragrance Wheel’s and pin them up on the walls of my studio to give me inspiration. I don’t usually work with fragrance wheels when designing candle fragrances but it is definitely handy when designing perfume scents which is what I’d like to get into a lot more once I have upgraded my fragrance stock.

I really like this one but I’d also like to find some more complex ones.

A Fancy Fragrance Wheel (sorry, this image is no longer available)

I was approached by a blogger recently, who expressed an interest in featuring some of my products, namely my reed diffusers and scented candles on her blog. She was very complimentary about my products and has reviewed similar luxury home accessory brands on her successful US based luxury travel blog.

I have usually shied away from sending my products to US based bloggers in the past because of the restrictions in sending perfumes and fragrances overseas but sometimes if you can provide specific information on the ingredients used in the products you want to send they allow you to send it so I have sent them the MSDS sheets for the Fragrance Oils I have used in my reed diffusers and candles and am just waiting to hear back from them to see whether it’s going to be a no go or not. It is so annoying to think that my customer base is massively restricted by these postal bans as the US is a massive market that it would be amazing to be able to ship my products over there.

Also, one of my Fragrance Oil suppliers (Sensory Perfection) has discontinued one of my most loved fragrances: Lychee, aswell as Rice Flower Aand Orris FO and I cannot find a supplier of Lychee oil anywhere else in the UK. As one of our popular candles: Monoi de Tahiti & Lychee has a high percentage of Lychee in it and I have plans for it to be featured in many other fragrances, it is imperative that I get my hands on it as soon as possible. Ordering from the US (though a solution), is not ideal as it will take a long time to be shipped to me and also it will cost MUCH more as I will have to pay international shipping charges aswell as customs and duties taxon it  too. For one little bottle of FO it’s hardly going to be worth it.

So, if you know of a reliable UK supplier of Lychee Fragrance Oil then please do post their details below. It is very important that I source an alternative otherwise I fear we’ll all suffer!  sniff sniff

 

Leave a Reply

