For Love and Lemons UPDATE

For Love

 

So, my For Love and Lemons Velvet Vixen Maxi Dress arrived from Revolve Clothing the other day. I was most excited to open up the package and try it on as I had to wait almost 2 weeks for it to arrive and was looking forward to accessorising it for the Royal Television Society Dinner that I’m going to the following weekend. Alas…

Well. I’m just not all that keen on it.

I’d love to tell you how beautiful and amazing, unique, luxurious and glamorous it looked, but unfortunately I cannot. Because when I first opened up the package my first thought was that it was a lovely colour (as it is), but I was worried not only about the very visible front slit seam (which wasn’t there in the pictures on the website!), but also about the slightly baggy fit around the waist area. Of course my concern about the fit wasn’t a definitive opinion at this stage because I hadn’t tried the dress on yet, but I know my body and know how things will fit on me and it looked a little baggy to me. When I got home and tried it on my concerns were verified as the area around the waist was loose. The dress does have a tie string at the back but even when I done that up the dress still looked quite shapeless to me. Also the material covering the breasts doesn’t allow for any cleavage. It just sort of sits over the boob area, in a pretty uninspiring and sexless way. Reluctantly I have to admit that overall the dress looks pretty casual. It’s not high glamour like I thought and hoped it would be. And that’s very disappointing.

I actually have another dress in a similar style (a long red maxi dress with a front slit), which I was going to wear as a back up should this one not arrive in time and it fits much better AND it’s cheaper too. I paid almost £200 for this dress!

My plan is to try it on again tonight, perhaps with the fur stole that I bought to wear with it, or with high heels and makeup and ask my boyfriends honest opinion on it, but I think that it’s pretty safe to say that I’m going to be sending it back to California and asking for a refund as it’s really not what I thought it would be, and unlike some other peoples ways of styling the dress that I’ve seen (leather jackets and biker boots), it’s just not cut out for the job at hand. I have no intention of walking around in a velvet maxi dress with biker boots, I bought it to wear as an elegant evening dress but if it’s not that then it’s gotta go.

 

 

Vixen dress<< You see, NO SEAM across the front slits.

In this picture you can clearly see that her arms are artistically placed so that you cannot see the true shape of the dress. Hmpf. Very disappointing indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

