Natural Winter Hair Remedy

Natural Winter Hair Remedy

shikakai powdercoconut milk

I’m being perfectly honest when I tell you that my hair has never felt cleaner since I stopped using store bought, chemical inclusive hair shampoos and started making my own natural hair care. And I could also argue that my hair has never looked better, but that could be a matter of opinion 😉

I am always on the lookout for natural ingredients that have beneficial properties to health and skincare and as such I have been looking specifically for some really good hair conditioner recipes. I was using Coconut Oil previously, but I feel it can be a little drying and could do with some jazzing up.

Recently I came across some Natural Hair Conditioner recipes, with interesting ingredients that I’d like to try out within the next couple of weeks. As I’m going on holiday tomorrow and won’t be back for another week I’ll need to do one of the conditioner recipes tonight after I have washed my hair with my tried and tested Basic Hair Shampoo Recipe: https://silklafox.wordpress.com/2014/09/16/basic-natural-hair-shampoo-recipe/ .

Coconut Milk & Shikakai Deep Conditioner

Ingredients

1 Cup (or Can) Organic Coconut Milk

2 Tbsp Shikakai Powder

2 Tbsp Olive Oil (or Avocado Oil)

2 Tbsp Jojoba Oil (or Sweet Almond Oil)

2 Tbsp Manuka Honey

A few drops of Essential Oils (optional)

Shikakai Powder (also known as Acacia Concinna), is a natural fruit powder originating from the Acacia tree found in parts of Asia. Shikakai means “fruit for hair”, and has been used as a natural hair ingredient in India for centuries. Shikakai is a result of the fruit pods, leaves and bark being ground into a fine powder, which is then made into a paste.  It has a ton of benefits, including:

  • Nourishing hair, promoting hair growth & strength
  • Gentle on the scalp and hair
  • Prevents and eliminates dandruff
  • Works well both as a shampoo and in a conditioner (the paste like texture gives it lathering capabilities)
  • Strengthens and moisturises the hair
  • Can also be used as a body wash and face cleanser
  • Doesn’t strip the hair of it’s natural oils
  • Helps protect the hair from fungal infections (and lice)

This product sounds like an absolute god send! I haven’t managed to get my mitts on it yet as Holland and Barretts don’t stock it and Whole Foods only have the capsules but when I do oh boy will I be making good use of it! V Excited. Coupled with the properties of Coconut Milk which soothes the scalp and provides softness and deep conditioning, I think this is going to be a very good conditioner indeed.

Recipe number 2..

Coconut Milk, Shea Butter & Honey Conditioner

Ingredients

1/4 Can Coconut Milk

1 Tsp Whipped Shea Butter

1 Tbsp Manuka Honey

1 Tbsp Olive Oil (or Avocado)

1 Tbsp Jojoba Oil (or Sweet Almond)

2 Tsp Vegetable Glycerin

A few drops of Essential Oils (optional)

I can’t tout the goodness of Manuka Honey enough – I use it in my face cleanser, moisturiser, hot oil conditioner and in my bentonite clay & honey face mask: https://silklafox.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/bentonite-clay-manuka-honey-face-mask-recipe/. It can be used in a variety of different recipes so it is a highly recommended investment – and it IS an investment. I had to pay £31 for 250 grams! Try it out for yourself and see what you think. See you in a week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

