Letter to the Editor

pen
We’ve come to a bit of a lull here in The Secret Scent Societe’ lab but rather then sit about stewing over the whats the whys and the wheres I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands and try getting my products into some magazines. I don’t know what stopped me from doing this before, fear perhaps, but I’ve decided that fear isn’t going to get my brand where I want it to be. I realise now that without setting any realistic tasks and goals I would continue to feel de-motivated and ask myself what the point was. Understanding that this is normal, and that I’m far from being the only one is the first step to deciding how to remedy the problem. So I took some advice that my cousin gave me last week about contacting the magazines and websites that I want my products to be featured in and have contacted the editor of my favourite magazine of all Stylist. There page The Style List always has an eyecatching variety of products both from well known brands and small independent ones. It’s infact the one place where I know that my products would do well to be seen in, as in actually result in sales, which unfortunately not what happened after my ad in VOGUE (sad but true). In reality all marketing and promotion is a gamble, and sometimes it pays off, sometimes it doesn’t. But I do believe that being seen in Stylist is a positive and progressive step towards being where I want to be: An established brand that people can’t help but to be loyal to. I appreciate that they must get tons of people contacting them about being in there magazine so I have sent an email offering a free sample of my products. I mean, who doesn’t want a freebie?
I think that since I’m on a roll there’s no point in stopping there.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to contact a few other publications about being featured. Aferall they can only say no huh?

Has fear ever held you back from doing things you want to do? And if so, what did you do about it in the end?

Leave a Reply

