Photography Pt 111

Photography, as I’m sure you know by now, isn’t my strong point. I have seen so many handmade products with amazing photography and it makes me feel very frustrated indeed that I can’t seem to manage to take simple, professional shots of my products.

It isn’t simply a matter of buying the best camera, and it just about having the “eye” for taking pictures. It’s a combination of both. And good lighting. Always, always good lighting!

Alas even when I bought myself a professional light tent, with special daylight lamps to use to illuminate the shadows my pictures still didn’t come out the way I wanted them too. Sure they were an improvement on the previous, but they still weren’t clean enough, they weren’t white enough, and they were still very shadowy in places. To make even matters worse, it seemed as though I was at the mercy of the sun – everytime it moved I had to move. Reading forums about taking photo’s of your products, the advice of the majority was to use as much natural light as possible. But for me it just wasn’t possible. The natural light was too changeable, it wasn’t consistent enough and thus I was finding the quality of my photo’s diminishing as the day wore on. Frustrating.

So on Sunday my boyfriend and I spent the entire day working on finding the perfect camera set-up, the perfect setting on the camera, and the best position in the house to take the most simple and effective shots. Thankfully we found it. The decision after taking lots of pictures using different settings then comparing them all on the computer told us a few things: That we needed to turn the light tent the other way round (so that it had it’s back to the sun), this gave a less intense light but a more fluid light. And most importantly: It was no longer shadowy!

Also, we decided against using natural light. When we viewed them on the computer they seemed more grainy, less perfect, and unlike jewellery, or clothing, where it’s always better to see the texture of the materials used, imperfections in glass, isn’t so great. Using flash eliminated those imperfections, and made the product really come to life. Nevertheless it was a very subtle difference between the two, and that’s what I was looking for.

Over the next few weeks, before my article in VOGUE goes live (can’t wait!), I need to redo all of my photography so that it is in keeping with this new updated style. Up until now good photography has alluded me but not anymore!

Meadowfoam Soap

VOGUE 2

Hair Perfume

I would love to hear your thoughts on my photography! And if you know any trade secrets that could help me make them better I would be very happy to hear them, and of course, if you make your own products then I’d love to have a look at yours too!

2 thoughts on “Photography Pt 111

  1. Your photos look great! The first one looks a bit yellow-y so I would suggest fixing the temp/saturation on it. It took me a long long time to figure out photos for my shop and eventually, I just created my own lightbox and used lamps. I use natural lighting for jewelry and small things but for my handbags I have to use lamps and a lightbox. I end up doing lots of photo editing but they still come out pretty great.

    • Hi Aylah and Thanks! Yes, I can see now that the soap image is a tad bit on the yellow side, next time I use a photo editing tool (I used picasa for these images), I will try to use a comparible image to get the white right. I had a peek at your blog and you’re photography looks great!

Leave a Reply

