Fragrance Profile: Vetiver

Fragrance Profile: Vetiver

vetiver_section

Vetiver inci name Chrysopogon zizanioides, is a dark thick like sap that originates from grass in tropical countries such as India, Tahiti and Haiti. It has a very strong odour reminiscent of damp earth, cacao and wood and is extracted by steam distillation.

Vetiver is a popular ingredient in soap making and perfumery because of it’s distinctive smell and excellent fixative qualities. It has therapeutic properties including being an antiseptic, aphrodisiac, relieving insomnia, helping with mental and physical exhaustion and nourishing dry skin and lessening wrinkles. A lot of men’s aftershaves include Vetiver as it is reminiscent of classic manliness, worn leather sofa’s and expensive cigars.

Vetiver is affordable and is used in many wellknown perfumes including Tom Ford Grey Vetiver, Christian Dior Vetiver and Guerlain Vetiver.

Vetiver is in my not yet released “Hair Elixir”, which I’m using myself at the moment as I’m trying to grow my hair and it is simply wonderful. Not too greasy, but nourishing and ultra moisturising with the beautiful fragrance of orange, rose-geranium and vetiver.

If you have any other tips for growing hair then I’ll be happy to hear them as I really don’t want to have to wait a whole 2 years for it to get to shoulder length (remember I’m starting from scratch as I shaved all of my hair off! lol)

Leave a Reply

