Photo Light Boxes

I have only just discovered this light box malarkey and I must say it has got me very curious indeed. For months now I have been putting off taking more photographs of my products as despite me spending hours upon hours taking photographs they just never seemed to come out the way that I want them too. After getting increasingly frustrated with poor online sales I realised that this was directly related to the way that my pictures looked (afterall, when selling products online the number 1 thing that makes people buy the product is simple, professional and eyecatching photography).

I contacted some professional product photographers on Gumtree about taking some photo’s of my handmade candles and skincare etc but I found that they were far too pricey and I realised that it made much more sense (considering I’ll need to photograph my products quite regularly), and it was more cost effective if I just learnt some tricks of the trade and done it myself.

I researched the most affective ways of doing this and came across a photo light box, which is a nylon tent like construction that allows you to take high quality photographs with a consistently diffused light. Obviously there are different variations and they can get pretty costly but overall they are quite reasonably priced. Alternatively, with a few bits of materials you can make it yourself at home.
After watching some videos’s showing how to do this I decided against it as sourcing the materials didn’t seem to be that straightforward.
So I looked for a lightbox and found this: light-tent

It needs to be used with daylight balanced fluorescent lighting to give the picture clarity, without having a horrible yellow tint to the picture that is sometimes apparent when you use normal lightbulbs. The bulbs apart from there ability to make your photo’s look amazing, are actually quite eco friendly, as they use much less energy then standard lightbulbs and thus last much longer. Desklamps using these lights just need to be placed on either side of the tent to give a bright and fluid light over the object you are trying to photograph.

I have ordered mine, so I guess you’ll have to stay tuned to find out how it all worked out!

Until then!

3 thoughts on “Photo Light Boxes

  1. I’ve always wondered about light boxes too, although I don’t have any small products that I could use it for. I always hear people talking about though, so I hope it works out for you!

  2. Hi Kim! Sounds like you’re already a lightbox pro! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Hi Ashley! The lightboxes come in different sizes, some are specifically designed for things as small as jewellery and small ornaments etc so I’m sure you will be able to find one to suit your needs. Thanks, and I’ll definitely post some pictures of my attempts once I have used it.

Leave a Reply

