Brick Lane Market

Brick Lane Market

So, I exhibited in Brick Lane Market this Sunday. It was extremely busy there – I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many people at a market before which I took to be a good sign. I had to wake up at 6: 00 am in order to get there for my early start at 8:30 am! As I’d never traded there before I didn’t want to leave anything to chance in terms of parking, locating my stall and setting up etc so I got myself there an hour and a half before the market opened to the public. The market itself is huge – it’s situated in an enormous warehouse where there are traders selling everything from gelato and international cuisine, to clothes and jewellery, art, furniture, and handmade goods. The market I traded in is exclusive to Designer-Makers and was bright and roomy. The table I got to showcase my wares on was huge! It doesn’t get as much traffic as the main market “Upmarket” but is more niche, and you know you are getting quality when everything sold there has been handcrafted by the trader. There did seem to be quite ALOT of traders selling food which seemed to be extremely popular and I guess I didn’t do too badly, but I did feel as though people were there to find a bargain, and not necessarily to buy quality goods. As much as I’d like to offer my products for next to nothing, the materials I use certainly don’t cost next to nothing to source and neither does my time in creating them and I find it hard striking that balance between offering a good price, and offering products at the price they cost, and are worth. You are always going to pay a premium for handmade goods anyway, particularly luxury handmade goods. I began to get the feeling that this wasn’t my target market when in the 3rd hour of me being there, despite there being hoards of people present, people were sniffing, complimenting, oohing and aahing, but weren’t buying. It was very frustrating to say the least. But I forced myself to put things into perspective when a man approached me saying that he ran a couple of Markets around London (including one in Fulham and a new one that he’d like to run regularly in Islington) and said that he really liked my products and was doing a special Christmas event in Islington which would be heavily publicised in the media, and at which there would only be 32 traders selling similar high end products to my own trading there. He invited me to exhibit there and said that he’d send me the details in the coming weeks. Sounds promising!

At Homegrown I also revealed my brand new hair care products that I’ve just created: Hair Elixir.

I made 2 testers and brought them along with me to the show so that people could try them out, and I could gain some valuable feedback on what people thought of them. People really seemed to like them so I think it’s only right that I make them available for sale online and in person. I might even try and get them into salons too.

There are 2 types of Hair Perfume that I’ve made: Number 1, is a non greasy, Alcohol-free Hair Perfume made with Jojoba Oil, Glycerin and Vitamin E to nourish, moisturise and deeply penetrate the hair, with a beautiful floral Essential Oil blend.

And the 2nd is a Perfume Hair Mist Spray, made with Orange Blossom Water and Vitamin E to fragrance, refresh and revitalise the hair. Both are 100% Alcohol-free and scented with pure Essential Oils.

I can’t tell you how much they will be just yet as I need to finalise some packaging details but I will soon! I think it’s pretty safe to say that every woman will want one of these badboys!

Here is a picture of my stall @ the Homegrown Market in Brick Lane:

Homegrown Brick Lane 2

Leave a Reply

