Craft Markets R US!

Craft Markets R US!

upmarket logo

I’m off to Ibiza in 20 days time and I can’t wait! Beautiful weather, beautiful people, sun, sand and great house music, what more could you ask for??

Following our announcement about us trading at Crafty Fox in October I was contacted by the manager of the Brick Lane markets in East London about trading with them so I went down on Sunday to check them out. The markets were absolutely heaving with people and I could immediately see why there “Up Market” has been voted by Time Out as being the “Best Market for New Designers”. Brick Lane Markets boasts the largest, most creative, eclectic and unique finds in London. People that frequent Brick Lane spend there entire day browsing the amazing stalls, listening to the live bands that play there, hanging out with friends, and tasting some of the delicious looking international cuisines on offer. Almost anything you could possibly want you can find there, it’s like a trove of treasures.

brick lane market

Homegrown is a market that specifically caters to those looking for handcrafted goods, championing independent UK designers and makers and helping to gain exposure for small local creative businesses. It’s a relatively new concept for Brick Lane as there Up Market and Backyard Markets offer mainly sourced Vintage wares, clothes and jewellery and because it’s new it isn’t as established or as popular as the others but I think this is likely to change (and soon) as more and more people look for products that have been handmade, and preferably with an environmental and eco friendly conscience.

Though it was clear that Upmarket was the more popular market I’ve decided to trade at Homegrown as my products are all handmade and I think it’s important to promote that fact, plus I preferred the space as it felt quite light and airy in comparison to the other markets. Also it has a pretty reasonable trading rate. Trading at Up Market on the other hand, costs £100 a day (ouch), so better left until I’m absolutely sure I’ll be able to cover that fee methinks!

I’m thinking about trading in the month of September but we’ll have to see how it goes when I return from my hols at the beginning of the month as there are lots of products I want to make before then to make sure that my stall is as varied as possible.

I’ve been searching for some inspiration so that I can create an elegant yet visually arresting stall display for my products so if you have any great ideas then please feel free to share them with me here. I would love to hear your thoughts!

Have a grrreat day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

