Photography Pt II

Photography Pt II

Last weekend as promised I made a start on my new product photography. I recently registered as a seller with not on the highstreet, which I’m really excited about, but before I opened my shop I wanted to make a strong first impression with a collection of original, striking, creative imagery of my products. As is advised with product photography they are generally more effective when taken in natural light so to some degree I’ve been at the mercy of the elements, as you know as well as I do that UK weather is nothing if not unpredictable and mostly when your hoping for the sun to shine, it rains instead! Thankfully, on this occasion it didn’t rain but it was very overcast and I didn’t want to spend hours on taking photo’s to be left with pictures that were dark and shadowy so unfortunately I only managed to take a couple.

I have tried to utilise the space and light in the best way that I could, with slight variations in the presentation of the products, but still keeping with the general theme. I found that the photo’s taken in the contrast of the wood and lifestyle shots on the mantle piece were generally the most effective so I tried to take a variety of those. I’m going to try again this weekend, and to maximise my chances of good lighting conditions I might take some photo’s in the back garden with an erected backdrop.

Here is some of my photography. All comments, critiques and suggestions are welcome!

new creme 12

ambrosial peach soap 11

Lavender with love 5

Leave a Reply

